top of page
  • Writer's pictureJuicy Jules

A Winter Participation Production

1.) Take part in an outdoors activity for at least one hour in length and complete the survey. (Done)


Magical sunset that helped make this day even better.
River Sunset

The challenge of successfully completing an outdoor activity in Winnipeg during the month of January, proved to be a semi difficult task. The weather, combined with the fact that I play almost no sports and have neither the physical stamina or strength of any kind, left few activities that seemed possible. Luckily my friend, who is a hockey player of 10 years, suggested skating and promised that I wouldn’t bump into anyone (I can skate around but can’t stop.)

us on the ice!

My friend, brother and I went skating at The Forks on January 17th when there was a break in the deep freeze. Skating along the river while the sun set was an absolutely surreal experience and we being millennials, had to stop and take a picture. After the sun had set, all of the lights along the path were lit. It was easy to ignore the coldness on my face as the beauty of the outdoors surrounded me with soft glowing lights. The day was absolutely perfect: from the parking, to the weather, the people, setting and the time, I wouldn’t change one thing. Overall, I am extremely pleased with the experience and am glad that this assignment semi forced/gently pushed me in this direction. If the weather next year isn’t so bad, then I would like this to become an annual tradition. The only regret that I have is not participating in a bonfire and going tobogganing. Maybe next year!







23 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page